Biz Tips: How to Close Your Account on LinkedIn

Biz Tips: How to Close Your Account on LinkedIn

Biz Tip:

How to Close Your Account on LinkedIn

Sadly, we do occasionally get asked how to close an account on LinkedIn, usually because someone has retired or because they are fed up with the results they are getting, or sometimes simply because they haven’t made it work for themselves yet.

We can prove it works after you’ve reset the context and understand it, and here’s a blog about that too.

If you still want to shut your account then here’s some simple instructions on how to do this.

There are a couple of things you need to do before you can shut your account on LinkedIn. First you need to make sure you’re not running a group on LinkedIn. If you are, go and delete it or assign it to a new manager and leave the group.

Secondly, you need to make sure you’ve canceled any premium account you might have.

Then you need to go to your home page on LinkedIn and then click on the little picture of you on the top right-hand side of the toolbar.

This will show you a drop-down menu and you need to select Settings & Privacy (see image below):

On the next screen that appears you need to select Account Management and you will then see the screen below which gives you the option of Closing your LinkedIn account.

Once you click on Closing your LinkedIn account it will ask you if you are sure you want to close it and ask you to confirm why you are closing your account:

Once you’ve confirmed the reason why you are closing your account, click on Next where you will be asked to enter your account password and click Close account.

Once you close your account:

  • You won’t have access to your connections or any information you’ve added to your account.
  • Your profile will no longer be visible on LinkedIn.
  • Search engines like Yahoo!, Bing, and Google may still display your information temporarily due to the way they collect and update their search data for a while (In our experience it can take several weeks before the closure of your LinkedIn account is reflected in major search engines).
  • You’ll lose all recommendations and endorsements you’ve collected on your LinkedIn profile.

If you are closing your account purely because you are fed up with the number of emails and notifications you are receiving, there is a way of reducing the number received by going into the Settings and Privacy section on your profile, then into Communications where you have the option to change your preferences on the types of email and notifications you receive.

Join The Rockstar Entrepreneur Community Now: Start Rockin Now

Similar Posts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *